Kokeshi’s color study

English below. UPDATED

 

kokeshi-show.jpg

Aquí les muestro un estudio/diseño y color para mi muñequita Kokeshi. Es una exhibición en colectiva de Kokeshis que se llevará a cabo en California, EU. Para mi ha sido un honor el haber sido invitada por Christina Conway, creadora de la exhibición y también fabulosa artista. ¿Quién puede resistirse a decir que no, si estas muñecas son adorablemente hermosas? Pulsar aquí para ver artistas invitados y algunos adelantos de las muñecas. Me queda poco tiempo, pues aún estoy haciendo entregas de ilustraciones para la editorial en la que estoy trabajando. Espero ya para la semana que viene comenzar a pintarla. ¡Espero les guste el diseño y colores! Aquí el Postcard de la exhibición.

 

majeak_ann-kokeshi-study2.jpg

—-

The drawing above is a color-n-design/study I did before starting to paint my Kokeshi doll. I am honored to be invited to participate in this upcoming show in November. If you would like to take a look at “sneak peeks” and to see other fantastic artists that are participating click here. I am really running out of time since I have illustrations to send up to the house publisher I am working on. But, it’s that I couldn’t say no to be part of this beautiful show. Next week will definitely start painting my blank. Thanks again Christina Conway for inviting me! Her BLOG.

DETAILS:

SUBTEXT PRESENTS KOKESHI : NOVEMBER 3 – DECEMBER 17

Opening Reception Saturday, November 3rd, 6–10pm, SUBTEXT 680 W. Beech St. No.1 San Diego CA.

In celebration of Bunka-no-hi – a Japanese national holiday promoting culture, the arts, and academic endeavor – Subtext and guest curator, Christina Conway, have carefully selected over 70 artists from 13 different countries to customize traditional Japanese Kokeshi dolls. The Kokeshi doll is a traditional folk art form of Japan, dating back to approximately 1830. Originally made by craftsmen during the winter months for sale to tourists, they have come to symbolize Japan to people around the world. Traditional Kokeshi dolls have distinctive characteristics connecting them to their specific region of origin. All traditional dolls are made of wood with a slender body, roundish head, hand painted features and no arms or legs.

 

29 thoughts on “Kokeshi’s color study

  1. -Zime y Georgina mil gracias, estoy ansiosa por pintarla, tan pronto termine con mis envíos.
    -Natacha, good to see you here, I decided to post in both languages because of it. xo!
    -Amy🙂
    -Flora, thanks🙂
    -Paula que linda, que bueno verte! beso*
    -May Ann thanks very much HUGS!
    -Lolita y Lucía, muchas gracias, me alegra mucho, sus palabras son alentadoras, un abrazo!

    XOX! TO ALL.

  2. Hola Marjorie ! Voy a hacer una mezcla de español y inglès porque no estoy buena in ninguno de los dos!

    I found your website long time ago, then lost it, and now, I’m really glad to rediscover it! I’m so excited to see all these magnificent Kokeshi’s…even if it won’t be for real! Yours looks so cute and shy! I love it!

  3. I am really infatuated with these dolls. And went and looked at the sneak peeks of the other participants. Then I even went to ebay to see more. Now I’m tempted to buy a blank and try my own.
    Your’s looks wonderful!

    xo
    Di

  4. Vine a saludarte!! Espero que estès bien, contenta y realizando todo aquello que te gusta. Espero ansiosa ver màs de tus creaciones.

    Se te extraña mucho. Un besito desde Guatemala!!

    Ale

  5. Hi Marjorie! This is Beautiful! I love the colours and the sweet look and oh the little bird at the corner!
    I just read your earlier post and saw your beautiful photo Marjorie! Yes, I thought so too, when i first saw your pix sometime ago, that your characters looks a bit like you!

  6. hola linda! que bueno lo de la expo! que genial que te hayan invitado! las tienen que hacer en madera? en volumen? quiero ver fotos del proceso de trabajo! un abrazo

  7. Hola, estoy preparando una exposición colectiva en Salamanca para donar los beneficios íntegramente a la Asociación Española Contra el Cáncer, me gustaría que le echases un vistazo por si te animas a participar.
    Un saludo y sin ningún compromiso por supuesto.

  8. Son preciosas estas muñecas, y la tuya parece que va a quedar estupenda.
    …yo querria saber donde encontrar alguna para poder pintarla yo, no las encuentro por ningun lado!!! si me pudiese ayudar alguien ^^ Muchas gracias!!

  9. Dulcipica puedes contactar a Christina Conway, es la que organizó exhibición y distribuyó los canvases a artistas participantes🙂

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH EVERYONE.
    MUCHAS MUCHAS GRACIAS.

  10. Hello Andrea!
    You can contact Christina Conway. I have wer blog on my blogroll. Contact her! Thanks for your pretty words!

    Hello Kim!
    I used acrylics, used some retarder, this usually add a soft gloss to the painting. Didn’t have to add varnish layer. Thanks!

  11. Anda! qué cosita más linda!!! No conocía yo este tipo de muñecas… Son muy bonitas. Las haces tu de veras??? jolines, qué diseños más chulos.

    Enhorabuena de verdad, son preciosas.

  12. Saludos! Me alegra te gusten este tipo de muñecas, no las fabrico. Sin embargo hay personas que se dedican a ello, a la medida y perfeccción. Es muy interesante conocer su historia. Estoy muy segura que este tipo de muñecas ha influenciado en cuanto a diseño a juguetes de hoy🙂
    Muy lindos los MUNNYS!!

Leave a Reply

